Featured Pediatrician

Periodically the KYAAP will spotlight one of its outstanding members.

Don Cantley Community Service Award Honorees
2016 William L Underwood, MD, FAAP
2015 Maria F. Nota, MD, FAAP
2014 John L. Jenkins, MD
2013 Robert Baumann, MD, FAAP
2012 Ronald Lehocky, MD, FAAP
2011 Tom Young, MD, FAAP
2010 Julia Richerson, MD, FAAP
2009 James Hedrick, MD, FAAP
2008 Clegg Austin, MD, FAAP
2007 Hatim Omar, MD, FAAP
2006 Tom Pinkstaff, MD, FAAP

Friends of the Children Award Honorees
2016 Susan G. Zepeda, PhD
2015 Stephen Wright MD FAAP
2014 Terry Brooks, PhD
2013 Therese Sirles, RN
2012 William Hacker, MD, FAAP
2011 Dawn Long
2010 Representative Addia Wuchner
2009 Ruth Ann Shepherd, MD, FAAP
2008 Representative Tom Burch
2007 Steve Davis, MD, FAAP
2006 Charles Taylor, MD, FAAP

 Dr. William L. Underwood, 2016 Don Cantley Award Winner

Bill Underwood has been a pediatrician practicing in KY for 48 years.  Bill practiced general pediatrics in Kentucky for over 45 years with the last 5 years at University of Kentucky teaching medical students and pediatric residents.  He has been a volunteer at Baby Health, a free health care for children facility, serving as Medical Director and volunteer for over 45 years.  He volunteers 1-2 days a week to this day.  Bill has also been a key board member and one of the founders of Camp Horsin Around, a non-profit camp that offers camping experiences for special needs children.  He loves to teach medical students and pediatric residents and they love his teaching. His service throughout his career, exemplifies the Don Cantley mold.